Two students awarded $75,000 each for academic excellence


Two Webster University students have been awarded $75,000 each for their Webster education over the next four years.

Kristopher Robertson and Tyron Showers are the 2015 recipients of the Webster University Dr. Donald M. Suggs Scholarship.

“The recipients of the Webster Dr. Donald M. Suggs Scholarship exemplify Webster’s commitment to diversity and inclusion that creates opportunity for students to succeed,” President Elizabeth Stroble said in a Webster News post.

The Suggs Scholarship is intended to increase the retention of high-potential minority students with a financial aid. Robertson and Showers will have to take at least 13 credit hours each semester and maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or above.

The scholarship was created in 2013. Dr. Suggs is a St. Louis oral surgeon and publisher of the St. Louis American. He is also a former member of the Webster University Board of Trustees.

According to Webster News, the scholarship will award each student $9,375 per semester for eight semesters. Besides covering a portion of tuition, the scholarship may also be applied toward studying abroad at one of Webster University’s international campuses for up to two semesters during the next four years.

Robertson graduated from Hazelwood East High School and is majoring in sound design. Showers graduated from North County Tech High School and is majoring in game design.

Reporting by Kevin Smith

Share this post

+ posts