SPICE wins President’s Cup


On March 29, Webster University’s chess team won the President’s Cup, or “Final Four of College Chess,” for the third year in a row. The team broke the record for the largest margin of points between first and second place in the history of the tournament.

The President’s Cup is a competition between the top four teams in U.S. college chess as determined by the Pan American Intercollegiate Championships, which Webster won in 2014. The competitors included Webster, Texas Tech (second place), the University of Texas at Dallas (third place) and the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (fourth place).

Liem Le, Ray Robson, Illia Nyzhnyk, Vasif Durarbayli, Fidel Carrales Jimenez (first alternative) and Andre Diamant (second alternative) played for Webster in the Final Four. The members flew out to New York with coaches Susan Polgar and Paul Truong.

The team played 12 games overall. Webster took the lead with 10 points, a 4.5 advantage over second place.

The team is undefeated in all college chess matches for the last three years.

Reporting by Emily Presnell

Share this post

+ posts