MCMA conference yields multiple awards for the Journal


By Olivia Heibeck

The Journal attended the Missouri Collegiate Media Association in Joplin, Mo., and placed first in 10 of the categories.

The Journal won first place in Best Overall Newspaper and Sweepstakes.

Photo adviser for The Journal, Bob LaRouche received the Missouri Adviser of the Year award.

Editor-in-Chief, Brittany Ruess, won Missouri Photojournalist of the Year for the second year in a row.

Five members of The Journal were awarded first place in individual categories.

First place awards went to:

—Haley Luke for Multimedia,

—Josh Sellmeyer for Sports Page,

—David Nash for Feature Photography and News Photography,

—Brittany Ruess for Sports Photography,

—Victoria Courtney for Information Graphic and Story Illustration.

Seven members of The Journal placed second in six individual categories.

Second place awards went to:

—Brittany Ruess for News Photography

—Victoria Courtney for Story Illusion

—Dan Bauman, Megan Favignano and Brittany Ruess for Page One Design

—Haley Luke and Josh Coppenbarger for Multimedia,

—Haley Luke for Feature Writing,

—Josh Sellmeyer for Sports Column.

Dan Bauman placed third in Investigating Reporting.

The Journal also received honorable mention in six categories.

—Dan Duncan for News Photography,

—Brittany Ruess for Page One Design and Feature Photography,

—Dan Bauman for Investigating Reporting,

—Tim Doty for Sports Reporting.

Share this post

+ posts