The Journal’s 2012-2013 Webster Athletic Awards


Webster University student athletes compiled awards ranging from All-Conference to All-American this academic year.

In 2012-13, Webster claimed four St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference regular-season titles and three SLIAC tournament championships. In the individual sports, school records seemed to fall on a weekly basis.

Former sports editor Josh Sellmeyer, current sports editor Tim Doty and 2013-14 sports editor Sam Masterson decided on the top performers of 2012-13. The trio had a difficult time selecting winners in the third annual Journal Webster Athletic Awards. In 16 categories, a winner and runner-up were selected. Duplicate winners were not allowed.

There were debates among the sports writers regarding who should win these awards, but what do you think? Tell us which picks we got right or wrong. Comment on the stories or send us an email at with your thoughts.

Best Male Athlete — Steven Dooley

Best Female Athlete — Jenny Howard

Male Newcomer of the Year — Mike Wells

Female Newcomer of the Year — Sam Kersting

Outstanding Male Scholar Athlete — Daniel Henkey

Outstanding Female Scholar Athlete — Samantha Powers

Coach of the Year — Marty Todt

Best Moment — Triple Crown: Part II

Best Streak — Baseball team wins 13 straight

Best Performance — Dylan Dean Smith throws no-hitter

Breakout Male Star — Ahmad Smith

Breakout Female Star — Rachel Franck

Best Upset — Men’s tennis tops Augustana College

Best Game — Baseball vs. Marietta College

Best Men’s Team — Baseball

Best Women’s Team — Soccer

Share this post

+ posts