Three former Webster athletes to be inducted into Hall of Fame


    Three former Gorloks will be added to the Webster University Athletics Hall of Fame this winter. Ashley (Everett) Zeier, Laura (Stuhlman) Peiter and Jeanne (Zes) Gilbert comprise the HOF class for 2012.
The trio of women played for Webster in the late ‘90s and early 2000s. Director of Athletics Tom Hart said he couldn’t be happier with the third induction class in Webster Athletics Hall of Fame history.
“They each had a significant impact on the advancement of our department in their variety of sports,” Hart said. “It was mentioned during the committee meetings (that) there’s a good chance that each of the sports wouldn’t be where they are without the work and commitment to excellence each of these individuals provided in the early days of their programs.”
Zeier was a defender on the women’s soccer team from 1999 to 2002. She was named the captain of the team all four years, a feat no other Webster women’s soccer player has accomplished.
During her four years at Webster, Peiter played softball and basketball. She contributed to the softball teams that won St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference championships and made NCAA tournament appearances from 1998 through 2001.
While on the women’s basketball team, Peiter helped lead the Gorloks to their first NCAA tournament appearance in program history.
Gilbert won the Webster Athlete of the Year award for the 1998-1999 academic year thanks to her softball skills. She ranks first all-time for the Gorloks in winning percentage, second in wins and shutouts and third in ERA and strikeouts.
The three inductees will be the 10th, 11th and 12th members to enter the Webster Athletics Hall of Fame. The HOF class will feature the fewest inductees thus far. Hart said it was best to induct all three rather than just two.
“We were torn between a couple of candidates,” Hart said. “Initially our thought was to go with two, but we went through the process and kept coming back to these three individuals.”
In order to be eligible, there is a five-year waiting period after the last year of participation in a Webster sport. The Hall of Fame committee, which is comprised of Webster coaches and professors such as golf coach Andrew Belsky and women’s soccer coach Luigi Scire, made the final vote on Nov. 18.
Hart said the nomination forms on go up approximately two months before the final vote, and the committee makes further decisions from there.
“We see all the people who have been nominated, (then) we have a preliminary discussion about those we want to consider further,” Hart said. “We discuss those (on the) final list before making a determination.”
Zeier, Peiter and Gilbert will be officially inducted into the Hall of Fame during halftime of the men’s basketball game on Feb. 4, 2012, at Grant Gymnasium.

Share this post

+ posts